Completion Special Schools are local educational agencies (LEAs) that can enroll students who are at least 18 years of age and have dropped out of school and are not currently enrolled in a public school in Georgia. Completion Special Schools can also serve as a program to any other students within their service area, pursuant to a collaborative operating agreement between the Completion Special School and the student’s resident school district.

As of July 1, 2023, three former state charter schools (Foothills Regional, Mountain Education, and Coastal Plains) have transitioned to Completion Special Schools and plans are underway to establish a new Completion Special School in Zone 7 (Southwest Georgia region).